Affina Biophilia 4th Heart ChakraCrystals to balance your 4th heart chakra

By Anna Guggenberger

The minute we free ourselves from the disappointments and problems of our past and the minute we let ourselves love and be loved, our heart energy starts to flow and we become open to unconditional love and compassion.

The fourth chakra, or heart chakra, is located in the centre of the chest and forms a bridge between the upper and the lower chakras, between spiritual aspirations and grounding. Its green colour signifies balance and harmony, openness and acceptance, that help us form meaningful connections with our surroundings.

The powerful energy of the heart chakra does not only improve our capacity for compassion and love towards others, but also towards ourselves. Love is the fundamental energy of the Universe, the frequency that connects us all. Once our heart chakra is open, we align with this universal love.

The symbol of ‘anahata’ is constituted of a hexagram in a circle, surrounded by twelve petals. The two triangles that make up the hexagram symbolise Shiva and Shakti, the male and the female principle that are brought together in harmony. 

The love governed by the heart chakra is not a romantic, or passionate love, it is a spiritual, universal love. It is the love that is always present in and around us. One way to channel and strengthen this love is to wear heart chakra stones and/or keep them in your home. The following three crystals and gemstones, for example, can help you dissolve imbalances in your ‘anahata’.


Aventurine is a powerful stone that brings light to unhealthy patterns or relationships and can help you recognise and change unhealthy behaviours. In ancient medicinal rituals, Aventurine was placed close to the heart to guide the spirits to the healing light of the heart. Once their heart chakra opened up, participants recounted that they felt a “wash of love” floating through their bodies. So, keep it close to your heart and wait for love to find you.


The dark green stone helps to remove blockages and balance the heart chakra. Women in particular should carry a Malachite to regulate their menstrual cycle and reduce cramps. The so called ‘Midwife stone’ also helps women in labour to reduce the pain. Archaeological evidence shows that Malachite has been used as a gemstone, in jewellery, or even as pigment in green paint for more than 3,000 years. Painters such as Pietro Perugino (c. 1446-1523) used malachite pigment to paint grass or green garments.

Rose Quartz
Rose Quartz
Rose Quartz

Even though Rose Quartz is pink, not green, it is a stone of the heart chakra. Patti Polk, the author of The Crystal Guide calls it the “ultimate stone for dealing with all matters of the heart, including self-love and love for others. Rose Quartz brings calmness to the heart and peacefulness to personal relationships.” It helps to dissolve fears and worries and awaken the heart’s ability to give and receive love. Rose Quartz is the most powerful love stone and should be part of every heart chakra meditation.  

The next article will deepen your knowledge about chakra meditation and teach you how to incorporate crystals into your daily practice.  Read next post on Throat Chakra.

Love Nature, Wellness and Travel?

Follow us on Instagram

Shop our Affina nature-inspired products

Read more stories on Affina's Biophilia Blog


About Anna
Anna is a thinker, dreamer, and raconteur. She grew up in the Austrian countryside surrounded by mountains, forests, and meadows, where her creative spirit and vivid imagination were cultivated. The aspiring writer seeks to inspire and spark conversations about topics ranging from mental health and body positivity to mindfulness and living in alignment with the energies of nature.